Back to top

The Board of Directors

Chugach Board of Directors

As a cooperative, Chugach is guided by a board of directors elected by and from its membership. The seven-member board sets policy and provides direction to Chugach's Chief Executive Officer. Directors are elected to staggered four-year terms in conjunction with the annual meeting each spring.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, public participation in Chugach board meetings is available via telephone or StarLeaf video option.

To participate in a meeting, please fill out the Member Participation in Board Meetings Request Form.

For more information call Arden Quezon (907) 762-4709 or email at


2023-2027 Chugach Electric Strategic Plan cover image linking to full PDF   Click to view 2022 Chugach Electric Goals PDF  Click to view 2021 Chugach Electric Sustainability Report

2021 Year in Review

2021 Treasurer Report


Bettina Chastain, Chair
term expires May 2023
(907) 885-1130

Bettina Chastain is an executive, business owner, and engineer who has spent her career providing technical and management consulting services to the oil and gas and energy sectors in Alaska, nationally, and internationally.  Ms. Chastain has been a very active member of the community serving on several non-profit boards for many years.  She was elected to the board in 2015 and re-elected in 2019 and currently serves as the Chair of the Board.  She has previously served as the Board Secretary, the Chair of the Operations Committee, and the Vice-Chair.  She is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned both her Board Leadership Certificate and Director Gold Credential.  Her term expires in May 2023.

Mark Wiggin, Vice Chair
term expires May 2024

Mark Wiggin is an engineer and manager with decades of experience in oil and gas exploration and field developments in Alaska.  Currently, he has a consulting practice with a focus on energy, infrastructure, and geospatial sectors.  His career has included work with most of the major oil operators in Alaska including ARCO Alaska, BP, ENI, ExxonMobil, and ConocoPhillips.  Throughout his tenure, Mark has managed and led large facility design and construction projects from funding approval through commissioning and operations.  In addition to his work in the oil industry, Mark served on the Municipal Light & Power [ML&P] Advisory Commission and subsequently served as chair of the ML&P Board of Directors.  Mark’s public service also includes serving as Deputy Commissioner for the Alaska Department of Natural Resources during the Walker Administration.  He is serving as the Board Vice-Chair and Chair of the Operations Committee.  His term expires in May 2024.

Harold Hollis, Treasurer
term expires May 2023
(907) 230-3550

Harold Hollis is the former Vice President, Construction & Engineering for NANA Development Corporation in Anchorage, and a current Board Director of the Alaska Power Association. He was previously a principal owner and Senior Vice President at Coffman Engineers, Inc., and has also worked as Vice President of WHPacific, Inc. He is a professional engineer and Alaska resident for more than 35 years. He has a background in leadership, management, strategic growth, business development, engineering, construction, and operations. He was appointed to the Board on July 25, 2018, and elected in 2019. He is serving as the Treasurer of the Board, Chair of the Audit & Finance Committee and is a member of the Operations Committee. He is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned his Board Leadership Certification. His term expires in May 2023.

Sam Cason, Secretary
term expires May 2024
(907) 980-1274

Sam Cason is a self-employed attorney with over 20 years of experience in Chugach governance.  He first served on the Bylaws Committee in the 90’s and then was elected to the Board in 2003.  After a term as a Director, he became an Assistant Attorney General where he served as a Public Advocate before the Regulatory Commission of Alaska for ten years.  He was again elected to the Board in 2020. As a lifelong Alaskan, he has a long history of community involvement, including serving on the Anchorage Jr. Nordic Board, President of the Anchorage Inn of Court, and coaching Jr. Nordic.  He is serving as the Secretary of the Board and Chair of the Governance Committee. He is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director.  His term expires in May 2024.

Rachel Morse, Director
term expires May 2026
(907) 444-8764

Rachel Morse has 20 years of executive work experience in Alaska nonprofit organizations. A Chugach member for more than two decades, she was appointed to the Board of Directors in January 2018 and re-elected to a four-year term in May 2022. She has previously served as Board Chair, Vice-Chair, and Treasurer. Currently, the Senior Vice President at the United Way of Anchorage, Morse is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned her Certificate in Board Leadership. She holds a master’s degree in business administration and Forestry & Natural Resources. Her term expires in May 2026.

Sisi Cooper, Director
term expires May 2026
(907) 257-9210

Sisi Cooper is the process safety group manager for aeSolutions, where she specializes in process safety, risk management, and related regulatory compliance. Her experience includes energy-sector project management and process and facility engineering and design.  Sisi was most recently elected to the Chugach Electric board in 2022 but has previously served from 2012 to 2018.  During her prior service, she earned her National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) Credentialed Cooperative Director and Board Leadership certifications. She has past experience as the Board Treasurer and Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee. Through her previous service on the Board, Sisi also served on the Alaska Power Association (APA) and Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP) boards. Her term expires in May 2026.