Board of Directors

Back to top

The Board of Directors

Chugach Electric's 2023 Board of Directors

As a cooperative, Chugach is guided by a board of directors elected by and from its membership. The seven-member board sets policy and provides direction to Chugach's Chief Executive Officer. Directors are elected to staggered four-year terms in conjunction with the annual meeting each spring.

Per the Chugach Bylaws (Article IV, Section 9), board members are compensated for each meeting of the board of directors, or a meeting of a committee thereof, or when a director is otherwise representing the Association in an official capacity and for each day of necessary travel in connection with that representation. Board compensation is also described in Board Policy 204, Director Meeting Fees and Expenses.

Public participation in Chugach board meetings is available in person, via telephone, or on Teams.

To participate in a meeting, please fill out the Meeting Participation Form.

For more information call Sandra Cacy at (907) 762-4288 or email


Strategic plan 2023 Click to view 2022 Chugach Electric Sustainability Report 2023-2024 Goals

2023 Bylaws

2022 Year in Review

2022 Treasurer Report

Board Policy 104 Conflict of Interest

Code of Ethics 

Request for Association information

Sam Cason, Chair
term expires May 2024
(907) 980-1274

Sam Cason is a self-employed attorney with over 20 years of experience in Chugach governance.  He first served on the Bylaws Committee in the 90’s and then was elected to the Board in 2003.  After a term as a Director, he became an Assistant Attorney General where he served as a Public Advocate before the Regulatory Commission of Alaska for ten years.  He was again elected to the Board in 2020. As a lifelong Alaskan, he has a long history of community involvement, including serving on the Anchorage Jr. Nordic Board, President of the Anchorage Inn of Court, and coaching Jr. Nordic.  He is currently serving as the Board Chair and has previously served as the Board Secretary and Chair of the Governance Committee. He is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director.  His term expires in May 2024.

Sisi Cooper, Vice Chair
term expires May 2026
(907) 257-9210

Sisi Cooper is the process safety group manager for aeSolutions, where she specializes in process safety, risk management, and related regulatory compliance. Her experience includes energy-sector project management and process and facility engineering and design.  Sisi was most recently elected to the Chugach Electric board in 2022 but has previously served from 2012 to 2018.  During her prior service, she earned her National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) Credentialed Cooperative Director and Board Leadership certifications. She is currently serving as the Board Vice Chair and has past experience as the Board Treasurer and Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee. Through her previous service on the Board, Sisi also served on the Alaska Power Association (APA) and Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP) boards. Her term expires in May 2026.

Rachel Morse, Treasurer
term expires May 2026
(907) 444-8764

Rachel Morse has 20 years of executive work experience in Alaska nonprofit organizations. A Chugach member for more than two decades, she was appointed to the Board of Directors in January 2018 and re-elected to a four-year term in May 2022. She has previously served as Board Chair, Vice-Chair, and Treasurer. Currently, the Senior Vice President at the United Way of Anchorage, Morse is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned her Certificate in Board Leadership. She holds a master’s degree in business administration and Forestry & Natural Resources. Her term expires in May 2026.

Susanne Fleek-Green, Secretary
term expires May 2027
(907) 770-7088

Susanne Fleek-Green has more than 25 years of of management and policy experience focused on energy, environmental protection, public and private land conservation, and community building. She has worked at the local, state and federal level in Alaska and Washington, D.C. She currently serves as a manager in the federal government and previously served as Chief of Staff to the Mayor of Anchorage, State Director for U.S. Senator Mark Begich and also has served on the boards of several non-profit organizations. She has lived in rural and urban Alaska, growing up in Yakutat, King Salmon and Anchorage. Her term expires May 2027.



Bettina Chastain, Director
term expires May 2025
(907) 885-1130

Bettina Chastain is an executive, business owner, and engineer who has spent her career providing technical and management consulting services to the oil and gas and energy sectors in Alaska, nationally, and internationally.  Ms. Chastain has been a very active member of the community serving on several non-profit boards for many years.  She was elected to the board in 2015, 2019, and reelected in 2023.  She has previously served as the Board Chair, Secretary, Chair of the Operations Committee, and the Vice-Chair.  She is a National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned both her Board Leadership Certificate and Director Gold Credential.  Her term expires in May 2025.

Mark Wiggin, Director
term expires May 2024

Mark Wiggin is an engineer and manager with decades of experience in oil and gas exploration and field developments in Alaska.  Currently, he has a consulting practice with a focus on energy, infrastructure, and geospatial sectors.  His career has included work with most of the major oil operators in Alaska including ARCO Alaska, BP, ENI, ExxonMobil, and ConocoPhillips.  Throughout his tenure, Mark has managed and led large facility design and construction projects from funding approval through commissioning and operations.  In addition to his work in the oil industry, Mark served on the Municipal Light & Power [ML&P] Advisory Commission and subsequently served as chair of the ML&P Board of Directors.  Mark’s public service also includes serving as Deputy Commissioner for the Alaska Department of Natural Resources during the Walker Administration.  He has previously served as the Board Vice-Chair and is currently serving as the Chair of the Operations Committee.  His term expires in May 2024.

Jim Nordlund, Director
term expires May 2027
(907) 952-9482

Jim Nordlund recently retired from a career in public service with periods working in the construction industry. He previously served on the Chugach Board from 2006 until being termed out in 2015, including roles as Board Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. Jim’s professional experience includes eight years as Alaska State Director of Public Assistance, eight years as Alaska Director for USDA Rural Development and five years as Executive Director for NeighborWorks Alaska. He also served in the Alaska State House of Representatives in the early 90s, worked as a journeyman carpenter with Local 1281, and was a commercial fisherman in Bristol Bay for seven seasons. He owned a residential remodeling business in the early 2000s. Jim has a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Colorado and is an NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director. His term expires in May 2027.