Back to top
For immediate release
April 27, 2007 at 10:28am
For more information, contact
Patti Bogan, 762-4736, cell 242-0704

Chugach Electric members elect directors

Alex Gimarc and P.J. Hill were elected to 3-year terms on the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility's annual meeting Thursday evening, April 26. About 23 percent of the 64,348 Chugach members of record voted in the election, up from 22 percent in 2006.

Hill is an associate professor of economics and a commercial fisherman. He has been a Chugach member off and on for 30 years.

Gimarc is a systems analyst with the Municipality of Anchorage, and has been a member of Chugach for 14 years.

In other voting, Chugach members passed a bylaw proposal to standardize the dates for appointing member committees and submitting bylaw proposals. A second bylaw proposal passed that allows the board to hire consultants, as needed, in addition to its CEO and financial advisor.

A total of 239 Chugach members registered for the annual meeting at the Egan Civic & Convention Center.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Elizabeth Vazquez was elected chairman of the board, Uwe Kalenka was elected vice-chair, P.J. Hill was elected treasurer and Alex Gimarc was elected secretary.

2007 Election Results
Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.