Back to top
For immediate release
December 28, 2021 at 3:37pm
For more information, contact
Julie Hasquet, (907) 717-9619

Chugach appoints Member Advisory Council

Committee to advise board on ways to improve member engagement

The Chugach Electric Association Board of Directors has appointed 15 community members to serve on a Member Advisory Council (MAC). The MAC is designed to advise the board as an ad hoc committee on a variety of topics including how to get more engagement from Chugach members, identifying candidates for board seats and election committees, and providing input on emerging issues facing the electric industry.

“We are looking forward to the ideas and energy the MAC committee members will bring,” said Chugach Board Chair Rachel Morse. “As a larger, integrated, member-owned cooperative, we are continually striving to engage better with our members and identify ways we can better serve them.”

The MAC is made up of Chugach members from a variety of backgrounds. The members are:

  • Wynne Auld, project manager, GCI Communication Corp.
  • Carl Berger, retired, ED, Lower Kuskokwim Economic Development Council
  • Nathaniel Betz, Director of Community Programs, Coastal Villages Region Fund
  • Ryan Buchholdt, budget director, University of Alaska Anchorage
  • Esther Cox, retired, educator
  • Christopher Dillon, engineering manager, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
  • Patrick Flynn, owner and principal, PF Solutions
  • Jay Hermanson, general manager, Kuna Engineering
  • Ashley Johnson, project manager, Providence Alaska Medical Center
  • Kathi Johnson, realtor, Jack White Real Estate
  • Leslie “Fritz” Krusen, III, retired, engineer
  • Louise Lazur, retired, businesswoman
  • Mitchell Roth, retired, University of Alaska professor
  • Charles Scantlebury, journeyman wireman, ALCAN Electric
  • Bernie Smith, retired, engineer and project manager

The MAC members were appointed after several months of advertising for interested candidates on the Chugach website, in the Outlet newsletter, and in the Anchorage Daily News. The members will serve a one-year term. The first meeting is set for Jan. 20, 2022, at the Chugach South Campus headquarters building.