Skip to main content
March 21, 2006 at 11:06am

Chugach gears up for election

Chugach Electric Association, Inc.'s annual membership meeting will be held April 27. Ballot packets for the election will go in the mail the week of March 27. Chugach is a member-owned cooperative electric utility, governed by a board of directors elected by and from the membership. Members have until noon, April 24, to return a mail ballot or may vote in-person at the annual meeting.

The 2006 candidates, who were all nominated by Chugach's 2006 Nominating Committee, are David Ausman, Jim Henderson, Michael Koy, Ray Kreig, Jeff Lipscomb and Jim Nordlund. Kreig and Lipscomb are incumbents.

Election results will be announced at the annual meeting. The meeting will be held the evening of April 27 at the Egan Center.

During the election campaign, various groups involved in the campaigns may use "Chugach" in the title of their organizations. To be clear these organizations are not supported nor endorsed by Chugach Electric Association, Inc. The utility conducts the election, but does not participate in the election campaigns. Members who have questions about campaign advertising should contact the organization running the ad. Members who have questions of fact for Chugach Electric Association, Inc. may contact the utility's public relations department at 762-4736.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.

For more information, contact Patti Bogan, 762-4736