Skip to main content
April 28, 2006 at 11:41am

Chugach Electric members elect directors

Incumbent Jeff Lipscomb and Jim Nordlund were elected to 3-year terms on the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility's annual meeting Thursday evening, April 27. About 22.3 percent of the 63,639 Chugach members of record voted in the election, compared to 15.5 percent in 2005.

Lipscomb is a professional mechanical engineer and project management consultant. He is the principal and owner of JWL Engineering. He was elected to the board in 2000.

Nordlund is a homebuilder and general contractor who owns Nordlund Carpentry.

In other voting, Chugach members passed a bylaw proposal to reinstate term limits. As a result of the change, directors may not serve more than three consecutive 3-year terms.

A total of 282 Chugach members registered for the annual meeting at the Egan Civic & Convention Center.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Jeff Lipscomb was elected chairman of the board, Bruce Davison was elected vice-chair, Dave Cottrell was elected treasurer and Jim Nordlund was elected secretary.


Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.


For more information, contact Patti Bogan, 762-4736 cell - 242-0704