Skip to main content
March 21, 2008 at 1:32am

Six members run for Chugach board

Six Chugach Electric Association members are running for three seats on the cooperative's board of directors in this spring's election. Each seat is for a 3-year term.

The candidates are Anthony "Tony" Izzo, Uwe Kalenka, Rebecca Logan, Janet Reiser, Elizabeth "Liz" Vazquez and Mark Wiggin. Kalenka, Logan and Vazquez are incumbents. There are no bylaw proposals for members to vote on this year.

Izzo Izzo is the owner of TMi Consulting, an energy consulting business. He has been a Chugach member since 2000.
Kalenka Kalenka is a self-employed property manager who has been a Chugach member since 1970, and is currently the Board Vice-Chair. He is an NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director and received the NRECA Board Leadership certificate.
Logan Logan is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Associated Builders and Contractors, Alaska Chapter. She has been a Chugach member since 2005.
Reiser Reiser is an engineer and the CEO of Salus Management Services. She has been a Chugach member since 1995.
Vazquez Vazquez is an attorney with the State of Alaska. She has been a Chugach member since 1989, and is currently Board Chair. She is a Credentialed Electrical Cooperative Director.
Wiggen Wiggin is a Project Manager with Arctic Slope Regional Corp. Energy Services and has been a Chugach member since 2001.

The board set March 12, 2008, as the record date for the 2008 election and annual meeting. Only members of record - or the designated voting representatives of non-natural members as evidenced by the signature(s) on the voting cards or the membership application on file with Chugach by the required date -- may vote by mail. In-person voting at the annual meeting is available for those members who have not cast a valid mail ballot. However, non-natural members, like businesses and organizations, have the opportunity to designate an authorized voter after the March 12 record date but by April 14. A special mailing was sent to non-natural members in late-February.

Mail-voting packets will be mailed to about 65,000 Chugach members of record the week of March 24. Members have until noon on Monday, April 21 to return mail ballots. Voting will also be allowed at the cooperative's annual meeting April 24 at the Egan Civic & Convention Center. Results of the election will be announced at the annual meeting.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.


For more information, contact Patti Bogan, 762-4736