Skip to main content
May 24, 2016 at 8:53am

Annual Meeting results - Dougherty & Reeves re-elected

Chugach Electric Association members re-elected Bruce Dougherty and Susan Reeves to the utility’s Board of Directors. Election results were announced Thursday night at the cooperative’s annual meeting.  Dougherty, Reeves, and Ron Stafford ran for the two board seats to be filled for this year’s election. Dougherty and Reeves will serve four-year terms.

Reeves is an attorney, and Dougherty is a retired health program manager for the State of Alaska. Just over 9 percent of Chugach’s 68,937 members voted in the election. Of the votes cast, roughly 58 percent were by mail and 41 percent were cast electronically via the internet or telephone.

In other voting, Chugach members approved two bylaw amendments. One clarified the duration of the term for a director appointed to fill a board vacancy, and the other clarified a provision of Chugach’s health insurance to comply with federal law. A total of 187 Chugach members registered at the annual meeting, with an estimated 400 people attending the event at the Dena’ina Center.

Following the meeting, the board met to elect officers to serve for the next year. All officers were re-elected as follows: Janet Reiser, board chair; Susan Reeves, vice-chair; Sisi Cooper, treasurer; and Bruce Dougherty, secretary.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt.

For more information, contact Julie Hasquet, (907) 762-4489