Back to top
For immediate release
April 26, 2002 at 2:18am
For more information, contact
Patti Bogan, 762-4736

Chugach members elect directors

H.A. "Red" Boucher, Samuel W. Cason and Patricia B. "Pat" Jasper were elected to 3-year terms on the board of directors of Chugach Electric Association. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility's annual meeting Thursday evening, April 25. About 14 percent of the 59,606 Chugach members of record voted in the election.

Boucher is a communications consultant who owns H.A. "Red" Boucher & Associates. He has served on the board since 1999.

Cason is an attorney. It is his first term on the Chugach board.

Jasper is a small-business owner and a former computer programmer and systems analyst. She has served on the board since 1995.

Peter Jarratt finished fourth in the voting for the three seats on the board.

In other voting, Chugach members rejected a bylaw amendment that would have changed director meeting fees.

A total of 165 Chugach members registered for the annual meeting at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Bruce Davison was elected president, while Dave Cottrell was elected vice-president, Chris Birch was elected secretary and Jeff Lipscomb was elected treasurer.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.