Back to top
For immediate release
April 25, 2003 at 12:09pm
For more information, contact
Patti Bogan, 762-4736 (wk) or 242-0704 (cell)

Chugach members elect directors

Incumbents Chris Birch and Jeff Lipscomb were elected to 3-year terms on the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility's annual meeting Thursday evening, April 24. About 14 percent of the 60,656 Chugach members of record voted in the election.

Birch is an engineering manager at Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport. He has served on the board since 1996 when he was appointed to fill a vacancy. He was elected to the board in 1997 and again in 2000.

Lipscomb is a project management consultant and engineer with JWL Engineering. He was first elected to the board and has served since 2000.

Elizabeth P. "Pat" Kennedy, Uwe Kalenka and David T. Dorsey finished in that order respectively in the voting for the two seats on the board.

In other voting, Chugach members passed three bylaw amendments that changed the titles of board officers and the general manager; clarified that Chugach can cover the board treasurer, or other officer, responsible for its funds or property by insurance in addition to, or in lieu of, a bond; and director compensation.

A total of 208 Chugach members registered for the annual meeting at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Bruce Davison was elected president, H. A. "Red" Boucher was elected vice-president, Pat Jasper was elected secretary and Jeff Lipscomb was elected treasurer.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.