Back to top
For immediate release
April 30, 2004 at 4:35pm
For more information, contact
Carol Heyman, 762-4707 cell 240-7754

Chugach members elect directors

Incumbents David J. Cottrell and Bruce E. Davison were re-elected to 3-year terms on the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility's annual meeting Thursday evening, April 29. About 12.2 percent of the 61,679 Chugach members of record voted in the election.

Cottrell is a founding member and past managing partner of Mikunda, Cottrell & Co., Certified Public Accounts. Currently he is the president and managing director Mikunda, Cottrell, Accountants and Consultants. He was elected to the board in 2001.

Davison is an attorney and professional engineer. He was appointed to the board in June 1997 to fill a vacancy, elected to the board in 1998 and re-elected in 2001.

In other voting, Chugach members passed a bylaw amendment that would eliminate director term limits.

A total of 178 Chugach members registered for the annual meeting at the Egan Civic & Convention Center

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Red Boucher was elected chairman of the board, Bruce Davison was elected vice-chair, Pat Jasper was elected secretary and Jeff Lipscomb was elected treasurer.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.