Back to top
For immediate release
May 17, 2013 at 9:38am
For more information, contact
Phil Steyer 762-4766

Chugach Electric members elect two directors

David Gillespie and Susan Reeves were elected to 3-year terms on the Chugach Electric Association board of directors.  Election results were announced at the cooperative utility’s annual meeting Thursday evening, May 17. P.J. Hill and Trudy Sobocienski were also candidates in the election.

About 12 percent of the Chugach members of record voted, with about 31 percent of the votes cast via the Internet.

Gillespie is the CEO of The Aleut Corporation. Reeves is an attorney and the managing member of Reeves Amodio . She has served on the board since 2010.

In other voting, Chugach members approved one proposed bylaw change allowing       4-year director terms. 

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year.  Janet Reiser was elected board chair, Susan Reeves was elected vice-chair, Jim Henderson was elected secretary and Sisi Cooper was elected treasurer.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.