Back to top
For immediate release
May 15, 2015 at 10:38am
For more information, contact
Phil Steyer, 762-4766, 382-2381

Chugach members elect directors

Bettina Chastain, Sisi Cooper and Bruce Dougherty were elected to the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. Election results were announced at the cooperative utility’s annual meeting Thursday evening, May 14. Ron Stafford was also a candidate in the election.

The two candidates receiving the most votes, Chastain and Cooper, were elected to 4-years terms. Dougherty was elected to a special 1-year term created by a recent resignation from the board.

Chastain is a self-employed executive and engineering consultant. Cooper is a project engineer with Doyon Anvil, first elected to the board in 2012. Dougherty is a health program manager with the State of Alaska.

In all, 11 percent of the 68,995 Chugach members of record voted, with a little over 39 percent of the votes cast electronically via the Internet or phone. A total of 184 Chugach members registered at the annual meeting, with about 400 people at the event held at the Dena’ina Center.

In other voting, Chugach members approved a proposed bylaw change that assists in the transition to electronic voting as the primary means of voting in future Chugach elections.

Immediately after the annual meeting, the board met to elect new officers to serve for the next year. Janet Reiser was elected board chair, Susan Reeves was elected vice-chair, Sisi Cooper was elected treasurer and Bruce Dougherty was elected secretary.

Chugach is the largest electric utility in Alaska, providing power for Alaskans throughout the Railbelt through retail, wholesale and economy energy sales.