Back to top
For immediate release
May 25, 2018 at 9:43am
For more information, contact
Julie Hasquet, 907-762-4489

Chugach Members Elect Directors

Chugach Electric Association members re-elected Jim Henderson and elected Rachel Morse to the utility’s Board of Directors. Election results were announced Tuesday night at the electric cooperative’s annual meeting held at the Dena’ina Civic and Convention Center. Jim Henderson, Rachel Morse, Harold Hollis, and Mitchell Roth ran for the two open seats. Directors Henderson and Morse will serve four-year terms.

Of Chugach’s 68,822 members of record, 6,789—or 9.9 percent—cast ballots in the 2018 election. A total of 246 members registered at the meeting, with attendance estimated at approximately 450 people.

Director Henderson was first elected to the Board in 2011 and re-elected in 2014. Director Morse was appointed to the Board in December to fill a position left vacant when then-Chair Janet Reiser stepped down after serving for ten years.

At this year’s annual meeting, Chugach members also approved two bylaw changes. The first clarifies the voting eligibility requirements of members, and the second reconciles board meeting notification requirements. Both changes were designed to bring the bylaws more in line with State law.

The Board of Directors elected new officers Wednesday night at a regularly-scheduled meeting. Bettina Chastain was re-elected Chair; Susan Reeves was re-elected Vice-Chair; Stuart Parks was elected Secretary; and Rachel Morse was elected Treasurer.

Chugach’s 2017 Annual Report is available and on-line at